World and European Referees

ESF is now working to the new WSF CBTA system for Referees and has introduced a Regional Referee qualification as part of its programme to encourage Referees to progress to WSF and World Referee status. The assessment programme for the new Regional Referee qualification is an ongoing and continuous process. ESF members are therefore encouraged to nominate their former European Regional Referees for assessment under the new criteria. (A list of the Referees appointed under the former Regional Referee scheme is available from the ESF office.) The first appointments to the new Regional Referee qualification were announced in 2009 and a list of the current Regional Referees is shown below. 

Current Regional Referees

Name  Country Appointed  
Oliver Orlicki Germany 2016
Marc Palmieri France 2015
Dean Clayton England 2014
Wendy Danzey England 2014
Clive Smith England 2012
Joe Ruddy   Ireland  2012
Marco Van Den Berg   Netherlands  2012
Jacques Wielandt Netherlands 2011
Torsten Maltzahn  Germany  2009


European-based WSF Referees

Name Country   World / WSF  
Roy Gingell   Wales World
John Massarella  England World
Ralf Harenberg  Germany WSF
Thomas Wachter Austria  WSF
Marko Podgorsek   Slovenia  WSF
Tomas Forter Czech Republic  WSF


European-based WSF Assessors

Name Country
John Massarella     England
Roy Gingell  Wales
Wendy Danzey  England